Books in the Library
You may access all the library books dealing with teaching issues here or you may type in 'teaching" in the search box above and select "catalog."
New Books on Teaching
These books are available in the library in the Teaching Section toward the back of the library.
Collarborative Learning Techniques - Elizabeth F. Barkley et al
Call Number: LB1032.B318 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0787955183
Classroom Assessment Techniques - Thomas A. Angelo
Call Number: LB2822.7.A54
ISBN/ISSN: 1555425003
This revised and greatly expanded edition of the 1988 handbook offers teachers at all levels of experience detailed, how-to advice on classroom assessment—from what it is and how it works to planning, implementing, and analyzing assessment projects. The authors illustrate their approach through twelve case studies that detail the real-life classroom experiences of teachers carrying out successful classroom assessment projects.
Best Practices for supporting adjunct faculty - Richard E. Lyons
Call Number: LB1778.2.B475
ISBN/ISSN: 1933371277
This book provides research data on the initiatives highlighted, and valuable ideas for institutions expanding their professional development opportunities for part-time instructors
Teachers in Professional Communities - Ann Lieberman and Lynn Miller
Call Number: LB1025.3.T43 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0807748897
Creating Significant Learning Experiences - L. Dee Fink
Call Number: LB2331.F495 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0787960551
Mr. Fink recently gave an In service training program for Kaplan Higher Education.
Earnings from learning: the rise of for-profit universities - David W. Breneman, editor
Call Number: LB2328.52.E37 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0791468399
New players, different game: understanding the rise of for-profit colleges and universities - William G. Tierney and Guilbert C. Hentschke
Call Number: LA227.4.T545 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0801886570
Stand your ground: building honorable leaders the West Point way - Evan H. Offstein
Call Number: HD57.7.O37 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0275991431
Acheiving and sustaining institutional excellence for the first year of college - Betsy O. Barefoot et al
Call Number: LB2343.4.A34 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0787971510
Table of Contents
NEWS
The Center for Teaching and Learning presented an online conference called KU Village on October 5-9, 2009. The theme this year is"Innovative approaches to maintaining quality during tough economic times." Click here for archived programs during the conference and online teaching tools that were presented in the Greenhouse. You will need your Kaplan ID.
This is the latest newletter from the OIE, the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.
Recommended Teaching Websites
These are websites dealing with teaching issues that we find useful and in many cases fascinating. The first several sites are from Kaplan itself. Many provide free material and include videos, course syllabi, textbooks, lesson plans, images and many other items in this heady environment of change. For a list of online teaching tools to use to enhance your teaching, see the box below.
- APA Style Guide & Copyright Issues These are links to the APA manual, to sites which can create citations in APA style, APA examples, and creating APA citations in Microsoft Word07.
Also covered are links to copyright and fair use. - Kaplan Center for Teaching and Learning This is Kaplan University's site for keeping up with teaching issues. They offer many online programs on teaching issues here at Kaplan. You will need your Kaplan log on to access this site. The Innovation Lab (see below) is part of this site.
- Innovation Lab (Kaplan)

The CTL’s Innovations Lab of KHEC is a faculty-led incubator for teaching innovation in the online environment. Will Deboek runs this site and explores many of the latest and very cool teaching tools. - Books | EDUCAUSE These are free full text books on various aspects of technology in education and teaching. Educause is a non-profit organization devoted to all aspects of using information technology in education.
- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
This U.S. government site is the portal to many resources from government agencies that aid in developing curricula for courses in the Arts & Sciences, history, languages, math, social studies. Describes each resource in detail & takes you to the website. - Google for Educators
Provides different tools for educators, such as Google docs, and offers collaborative techniques for teaching. - How to Organize Your Teaching - Essential Concepts This is a Dept of Education site dealing with ways to organize your teaching. Contains audio-visual and written materials.
- Merlot (Educational Materials for teachers) MERLOT is a group of colleges that provide free higher education, online teaching and learning materials. You can also join and have a personal account and participate in blogs. The site has extensive course material in many different subject areas.
- Open Educational Resources These are courses & teaching materials developed mostly by teachers that have been released to the public domain for everyone's use. This is a vast collection and covers primary, secondary and higher education in many different formats.
- Textbooks (Computer Science) Many authors are providing textbooks free over the internet. This site includes free online computer science, engineering & programming books, textbooks and lecture notes. There are no pirated textbooks on this site.
- Textbook Connections
Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web. Contains educational materials for everyone — from children to college students to professionals. All content is free. - Career College Association
Membership organization represents career colleges nationwide. Provides political action, publications, a guide to career colleges, online training courses, and other resources. - The Chronicle of Higher Education
This weekly publication is the primary reporter of higher education news. Limited access can be obtained with a free online account. The library keeps issues for the last year or so. - Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration Gives advice on setting up and conducting online classes. Dr. Larry Flegle of Kaplan University is on the Editorial Board.
- POD Resources
These are faculty development resources, teaching resources, and suggested websites from the Professional Organizational and Development Network in Higher Education. - Professional Development Database

Select "Professional Development" from the databases on the right. Requires Kaplan ID. Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 full text journals, including over 350 peer-reviewed titles. - Significant Learning Website
Dr. Fink, who in 2007 led an In service training session for Kaplan Higher Education, established this site for creating courses that offer significant learning opportunities. - NATIONAL RESOURCE CENTER FOR THE FIRST-YEAR EXPERIENCE AND STUDENTS IN TRANSITION This center focuses on the first-year college experience. It conducts research, holds conferences, publishes a journal and research findings, and has links to other sites.
- Amazon Textbook Website This is Amazon's site for new and used textbooks.
- Youtube Educational This is a new site established by Youtube to gather all the videos and channels provided by over 100 universities and colleges.
- Films Used for Teaching This is a list of feature films that can be used in classrooms for introducing various subjects and bringing them to life. Divided into categories and annotated. Films include 12 Angry Men, Goodwill Hunting, Super size me, etc.
- Open thinking » 80 Videos for Tech Here is a list of 80 videos both serious and amusing which are useful for showing students, administrators and faculty different aspects of the new social technology.
- Best Web sites for Teaching and Learning These are top sites selected by school librarians for teachers and students to organize, collaborate, share curricula and media, develop social networking and communication in virtual environments.
- Education Commission of the States
The mission of the Education Commission of the States is to help states develop effective policy & practice for public education by providing data, research, analysis and leadership; & by facilitating collaboration, the exchange of ideas among the states. - Community College Survey of Student Engagement
This yearly survey tracks student learning, student effort, student faculty interaction, support for learners and other student engagement issues in community colleges.
Innovations Lab
The Innvations Lab is part of Kaplan's Center for Teaching and Learning. They demonstrate new and exciting teaching tools that faculty can use in their classes. The have online programs several times a month. Click on the events tab to see upcoming demonstrations.

Loading Video Clip...
Online Teaching Tools
- Greenhouse (teaching tools) These are a series of online tools that you can use to make podcasts, screencasts of online activity, online announcements, movies, and many other tools. You can see demos of how to do it and then examples of uses by instructors.
- Jing Project (Online video creation) This is an online tool that allows you to take a picture of your screen or even record your actions as you move around on the internet and then create a video which you can share with your students. The simple version is free.
- Vimeo (upload videos) You can upload your videos to this site. Similar to Youtube but better. Free for basic version.
- Zorap.com (video chat room) Create an online room which is password protected and allow your students to access it at the same time. You can then share videos, pictures, chat, voice, webcams (if you have one) and other files to everyone in the room. Free for basic version.
- Slideshare Upload and share your PowerPoint presentations, Word documents and Adobe PDF Portfolios on SlideShare. Share publicly or privately.
- Drop.io Need to give someone access to your files, pictures, video on the internet. Go to drop.io and in 2 steps you can create an upload and create a link to the file (up to 100MB) for free.
Teaching Research
- Dept of Education Report on Online & Blended Learning (July 2009) This report found that online teaching was more effective than face-to-face and that blended learning was more effective skill. However, the difference may be more time was devoted to study.
Library Director |
18618 Crestwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
301-739-2680 ext 219
Send Email
Subjects:
Allied Health, Business, Graphic Design, IT, Legal, Criminal Justice
Retention
- The Power of Retention This is an excerpt from Neil Raisman's new book The Power of Retention. Mr. Raisman is a prolific writer on retention and customer service in Higher Education.
- Center for the study of College student retention CSCSR's aim is to provide researchers and practitioners with a comprehensive resource for finding information on college student retention and attrition. Publishes a journal and a blog and links to specific issues in student retention.
- ACT Site for Student Retention This site from the ACT testing service gives trends in student retention for different types of schools and gives reports of successful efforts in retaining students.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait