General Research Quick Links
These are your basic research links for finding information on many different subjects.
Suggested links for doing research papers are marked with an asterisk.
For statistics see box below.
For public libraries see box to the far right.
- *Kaplan Online Library
- Alphabetize rules
- APA Style Help
- Citation Builder
- Dictionary & Encyclopedia
- Directory (IPL)
- Directory (Open Directory)
- *Issues & Controversies Database
- *Magill's Medical Encyclopedia
- Medline Plus Encyclopedia
- Portal to the World
- Resource Guide Overview
- USA.gov
- Wikipedia
- Kaplan Writing Center
Statistics
Enter your search terms here. Click here for different strategies and shortcuts in using Google.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- Fedstats
- Health, United States
- Statemaster (states)
- Nationmaster (countries)
- Maryland Vital Statistics
- Maryland Labor & Employment Statistics
- Pennsylvania Vital Statistics
- U. of Michigan Statistical Site
- U.S. Energy Information Administration
- Pew Research Center
- United Nations Statistics Site
Legal & Criminal Justice Guide
This guide is for the Legal and Criminal Justice classes and for those students doing papers in each of these areas. The major resource for doing legal research is the Lexis-Nexis database and the major resource for criminal justice issues is Proquest Criminal Justice. Both of these made be found in the Kaplan Online Library. Select Lexis-Nexis or Proquest Criminal Justice from the databases on the lower right. You must have your Kaplan ID, available from the library or you may access the Kaplan Online Library through the KU online student portal. Choose My Studies and then Library. In addition there are a number of other free resources for case law, statutes, criminal justice, etc detailed in the tabs above.
News
Does the AA in Paralegal Studies or BS in Paralegal Studies qualify a student to take the PACE exam?
Dr. David Clinefelter, Provost, answers:
Yes, KU associate’s and bachelor’s degree recipients are eligible to take the PACE Examination for Paralegals (Paralegal Advanced Competency Exam), which is administered by the National Federation of Paralegal Associations. It is one of two such certification examinations. The other is the Certified Legal Assistant/Certified Paralegal examination administered by the National Association of Legal Assistants. Both organizations allow individuals who graduate from accredited universities—like Kaplan University--to sit for the examination.
Here's a good Constitutional Law site. Gives the history and purpose of the Constitution and tells the story of the Convention and its growth.
Library Director |
18618 Crestwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
301-739-2680 ext 219
Send Email
Subjects:
Allied Health, Business, Graphic Design, IT, Legal, Criminal Justice
Libraries
The following are the links to the catalog of other libraries in our area. It's a good idea to get a library card in the county where you live. We can borrow from Washington County and Enoch Pratt (Baltimore) libraries. The Worldcat website allows you to search for books and locate libraries near you that have the book. If you find a book in any of these library catalogs, send us the citation and we will order it through interlibrary loan.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait