General Research Quick Links
These are your basic research links for finding information on many different subjects.
Suggested links for doing research papers are marked with an asterisk.
For statistics see box below.
For public libraries see box to the far right.
- *Kaplan Online Library
- Alphabetize rules
- APA Style Help
- Citation Builder
- Dictionary & Encyclopedia
- Directory (IPL)
- Directory (Open Directory)
- *Issues & Controversies Database
- *Magill's Medical Encyclopedia
- Medline Plus Encyclopedia
- Portal to the World
- Resource Guide Overview
- USA.gov
- Wikipedia
- Kaplan Writing Center
Statistics
Enter your search terms here. Click here for different strategies and shortcuts in using Google.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- Fedstats
- Health, United States
- Statemaster (states)
- Nationmaster (countries)
- Maryland Vital Statistics
- Maryland Labor & Employment Statistics
- Pennsylvania Vital Statistics
- U. of Michigan Statistical Site
- U.S. Energy Information Administration
- Pew Research Center
- United Nations Statistics Site
How to Write Papers
This guide is for help with the mechanics of writing & researching assigned class papers and speeches.
- Go to the Kaplan Writing Center.
- Find and research a topic.
- Get help with the writing process and the research process.
- Get help in using the APA style.
- A Better Google search strategy
Tips for Making Your Writing Better by Dr. Pittman
Dr. Brenda Pittman - English Instructor and Chairman of the General Studies Department.
Hi Everyone!!!!
Do you sometimes get frustrated when you are trying to write an essay or even a paragraph?
If you do, here are some tips to keep in mind which might make the writing assignment a little easier.
First of all, think of the writing process in this way. It involves three (3) important steps:
- Think
- Speak
- Write
Of course, in a classroom environment, it is hard to speak too loudly, but you can speak softly so that your brain has a chance to think about what you want to put on paper.
Also, remember that the brain controls the body; the body does not control the brain.
For instance, if someone has a terminal illness and is told that he/she may only live 6 months but lives 6 years, it could be contributed to the fact that the person said to himself/herself every morning so that the brain received the signals, "I am going to get out of bed, and I am going to live." By doing so the person lived a great deal longer.
Also consider: when you walk into the classroom, here are some other factors besides your natural writing abilities that may influence how well you write that day:
- 1. Your mood
- 2. Your attitudes about the writing assignment--are you confident or do you feel nervous or uncomfortable about the assignment?
- 3. How well your day began before you entered the classroom.
- 4. The noises or lack of noise in the classroom.
When you consider these factors, you can then tell your brain that you are going to try to do your BEST with the assignment, regardless of what occurred in your life before entering the classroom.
Once you have considered the above factors, you can then try to do the writing assignments with more confidence and ease.
Now remember:
- If the assignment is easy, have a short introductory paragraph which states the thesis or main idea of the essay.
- Add several paragraphs of detail--remember to use transitions to tie your thoughts together.
- Have a concluding paragraph that restates/rewords what you said in your introductory paragraph.
Remember - each paragraph in the essay has a topic sentence and a concluding sentence!!!
Also remember, if you are just writing a paragraph:
- Have a topic sentence which states the main idea of the paragraph
- A body of 6-12 sentences that gives specific detail about the topic. Remember to use transitions to tie your thoughts together.
- Have a concluding sentence which restates/rewords the topic sentence.
Finally, remember: Writing can be fun!!!!! When you relax, and consider all of the factors above, and use your talents (and all of you can write!!!), your writing will be much better.
Good luck and have fun!!!!
Dr. Pittman
Library Director |
18618 Crestwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
301-739-2680 ext 219
Send Email
Subjects:
Allied Health, Business, Graphic Design, IT, Legal, Criminal Justice
Libraries
The following are the links to the catalog of other libraries in our area. It's a good idea to get a library card in the county where you live. We can borrow from Washington County and Enoch Pratt (Baltimore) libraries. The Worldcat website allows you to search for books and locate libraries near you that have the book. If you find a book in any of these library catalogs, send us the citation and we will order it through interlibrary loan.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait