APA Style Guides
The first two sites below allow you to enter information about each reference in your paper and they will transform that reference into APA or MLA format. You can then copy and paste that into your paper. We also have the official APA manuals in the library as well as several handouts.
Also, remember that Word07 can format references using APA, MLA and other styles. When you need to enter a reference into your paper, click on "references" at the top, enter the citation style and click insert citation. It will then create an "in text" citation. It will also create a bibliograpy at the end of your paper. If you don't have Word07, an excellent substitute is bibme (see below).
- Son of Citation Machine
- Citation Builder
- APA Sample Title Page (Approved for Hagerstown Campus Courses)
- APA Sample Body Page
- APA Sample Reference Page
- Kaplan Writing Center APA Guide
- APA Style Official Website
- APA Manual from Purdue's Online Writing Lab
- APA citation examples (U. of Md)
- APA Citation examples (Cornell)
- APA Tutorial
- Word 07 Instructions for creating Citations/Bibliography
- Word 07 Video on how to create APA citations and a bibliography
- Word 07 Template for APA style
- Working with Microsoft Word - technology tips for Kaplan Students
- BibMe: Great APA Bibliography Maker
- Citing Wikepedia
Websites for Researching Papers
- Sketch of the Writing Process
This is a visual sketch of the process of writing and links to each step. It may help you in organizing your thoughts and getting started. Provided by Cleveland State University. - How to develop a working thesis
Based on an online course by Cecilia Munzemaier, this site gives suggestions and procedures for developing a thesis. Gives examples of types of thesis and how to develop ideas for a thesis. Gives internet sources as well. - How to pick a topic for research
Also created by Cecilia Munzemaier, this site gives techniques for finding topics, narrowing them down, determining if there is enough information on the topic, the types of topics. - Thesaurus
Use a thesaurus to identify words and topics similar to the one you know. This will help you expand your research when you search in databases and on the web. You can also find synonyms on Google by entering the tilde symbol ~ in front of the term. - Citation Builder
Pick the type of reference you have (book, website, article, etc) and use the form to enter all the information you know about the reference. It will then generate the correct style in MLA, APA or Scientific (CBE) form. Works great! - Citation Machine
1. Click the citation format you need and then the type of resource you wish to cite,
2. Complete the Web form that appears with information from your source, and
3. Click Make Citations to generate standard bibliographic and in-te - The Online Writing Lab (Purdue University)
This site is a well-known OWL (Online writing lab) maintained by Purdue University. Resources include writing, conducting research, grammar and mechanics, style guides, job search and professional writing. - Finding information on the internet
This site from Berkeley University is a tutorial on how to find information on the net. Gives recommended search strategy using search engines, subject directories, meta-subject directories, & the invisible web. Also covers site evaluation, style sheets. - Evaluating information found on the internet
This site from Johns Hopkins University Library gives criteria for evaluating websites, such as authorship, publisher, point of view, how current is it, links to other sources, determining propaganda & misinformation. - Information literacy tutorial (University of Texas)
This is an animated tutorial on information literacy. You should enter as a "guest." Topics include what information literacy is, misconceptions of the internet, selecting sources, searching sources, and using the library. - Creative research ideas This site from the British Library gives suggestions for creatively doing research, such as make a map, record your questions, walkabout, use del.icio.us to record your bookmarks, write in the margins, and others.
- Writing a Research Paper This is a step by step process for writing research papers. Presented by Issues & Controversies (you will need a password from the library to access it remotely), you will be able to search your topic using their current issues database of over 800 topics
Find a Topic
Finding and Researching a Topic
Finding a good topic is very important. Spend some time here exploring.
- Consider interesting topics in your field of study
- Consider interesting hobbies or things you like to do
- Ask your family or friends
- Consult your teacher. Is there a list of suggested topics?
- What makes a good topic?
- something that interests you
- something where much information is available
- something that others would be interested in
- Think of other words that describe your topic and use these in the databases you search
If you are in the library, you can use the vertical file list posted here or on the vertical file cabinets near the windows. We have current information under each of these topics.
The library also has several series of books dealing with many different topics. To find a list of the titles under each series, enter the series name below in the search box provided. These include:
- At Issue (gives wide range of opinions on individual social issues, such as teen smoking, child pornography, club drugs, many more
- Opposing Viewpoints--gives pro and con opinions on major issues such as endangered oceans, child absue, cybercrime, and hundreds more
- Global Viewpoints-explores global issues such as climate change, immigration
- Writing the Critical Essay - in addition to exploring particular subjects, this series also explains how to write types of essays, such as expository, persuasive, descriptive, and narrative
If you are at home or in the library, you may also search the databases below which will give you an overview of each topic and allow you to explore the topic further.
- Issues & Controversies (online or in the library). This database covers over 800 current and continuing issues in the news. If accessing from off-campus, get password from the library. Look here for a list of research topics.
- Magill's Medical Guide (online or in the library). This guide covers all medical topics, including diseases, conditions, mental diseases, health information issues, etc. It gives concise articles on each topic and suggested further sources. If accessing from off-campus, get password from the library. You may also browse a a list of medical topics. We also have other medical databases.
- Directories. We also recommend using directories, which are websites recommended by librarians and others and are arranged by categories. The best of these are Open Directory and Internet Public Library. You can also just enter your search term in Google or other search engines followed by "web directory".
Narrow your topic
- Determine a more focused topic.
- Can you state the topic as a question?
- Do you have too much or too little information. A good rule of thumb is at least 1 reference citation for each page of your paper
In depth research Once you know something about your topic, explore it further
- Kaplan Online Library (articles)--- full text, password is needed. Begin with the database Academic Search Premier or use Super Search.
- For an excellent description of databases in general and the Kaplan Online Library, see this article by Jason Bengston.
- .
- Kaplan Online Library of electronic Books (Netlibrary) ---63,000 digital books full text, password is needed which is available from library.
- Google Search using advanced search. Get much more authoritative information using these techniques for searching Google.
Library Director |
18618 Crestwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
301-739-2680 ext 219
Send Email
Subjects:
Allied Health, Business, Graphic Design, IT, Legal, Criminal Justice
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait